planet gong bazaar
artwork Gong
Angel's Egg
Virgin CDV2007

available as Angels Egg deluxe 2CD

Classic 1973 Gong - Radio Gnome Invisible, Part 2.

The second part of the famous Gong Trilogy - Zero's story continues. Recorded under extrodinary circumstances on the Manor mobile with speakers deep in the forest that surrounded their house in France, and all manner of other unique and often ritualistic goings on occuring. Many of the album's main themes stem from an 18 hour improvisational session (tapes of which exist), under the influence of the moon and other strong mind-altering influences. Believe me the recording of this wonderful album is on a par with the legendary preparation and recording of Captain Beefheart's 'Trout Mask Replica' album.

Track 14 is a 'bonus track' and was not part of the original 'Angel's Egg' album. It was first released on 'Live Etc', and was daevid's idea of a Top 40 'hit' single no less!

Tracks: [50'21]
  1. Other Side of the Sky [7'40] (Tim Blake/daevid allen)
  2. Sold to the Highest Buddha [4'25] (Mike Howlett/daevid allen)
  3. Castle in the Clouds [1'09] (Steve Hillage)
  4. Prostitute Poem [4'52] (Gilli Smyth/Steve Hillage)
  5. Givin my Luv To You [0'43] (daevid allen)
  6. Selene [3'38] (daevid allen)
  7. Flute Salad [2'09] (Didier Malherbe)
  8. Oily Way [3'37] (daevid allen/Didier Malherbe)
  9. Outer Temple [1'09] (Tim Blake/Steve Hillage)
  10. Inner Temple [2'34] (daevid allen/Didier Malherbe)
  11. Percolations [0'46] (Pierre Moerlen)
  12. Love is How You Make It [3'27] (Pierre Moerlen/daevid allen)
  13. I Never Glid Before [5'36] (Steve Hillage)
  14. Eat That Phonebook Coda [3'12] (Didier Malherbe)
  15. Oob-Scooby Doomsday or The D-Day DJ's Got The D.D.T. Blues [5'09] (daevid allen)
  • daevid allen {Guitars, Vocals}
  • Tim Blake {Synths, Vocals}
  • Steve Hillage {Guitars}
  • Mike Howlett {Bass}
  • Didier Malherbe {Flute, Saxophones}
  • Pierre Moerlen {Drums, Percussion}
  • Gilli Smyth {Space whisper, Vocals}