gong mandalaplanet gong bazaar

cover art
Magick Brother
Snapper SNAP199CD || 2004-06-14 || £6.81 USD  EUR  JPY  + p+p +tax

Budget re-issue of Gong's first album.

Snapper didgi-pak version 'licensed' from Charly housed in the original BYG cover with a newly written removable booklet.

Gong's first album, recorded in 1969. Deeply, tripily psychily, gently, humanly/alienly, late sixties (1460 I think), recorded start to the Gong saga that continues to this day. Hear it and understand? This digi-pak edition reproduces the original cover including daevid's wonderful drawings, which again (may) help one's understanding of all things Gong.

Myth de-bunking No. 65. The booklet repeats the oft spun tale that the album was recorded on the sound channel of a hand-held movie camera - a totally absurb claim as is obvious to anyone listening to it. It's a proper multi-track studio recording and a pyschedelic masterpiece to boot.

Note: Unfortunately, the only way the musicians will benefit in any way from sales of this release is if you buy it here - otherwise they can expect no royalties on sales or publishing.

Tracks: [39'47]
  1. Mystic Sister/Magick Brother [5'54]
  2. Glad To Sad To Say [4'09]
  3. Rational Anthem [3'45]
  4. Chainstore Chant/Pretty Miss Titty [4'49]
  5. Hope You Feel OK [4'32]
  6. Ego [3'58]
  7. Gongsong [4'10]
  8. Princess Dreaming [2'57]
  9. 5 and 20 Schoolgirls [4'30]
  10. Cos You Got Green Hair [5'06]
  • Didier Malherbe {Flute, Soprano Sax}
  • Rachid Houri {Drums, Tabla}
  • Dieter Gewissler {Contrabass: 1,7}
  • Earl Freeman {Contrabass: 6, Piano: 7}
  • Barre Phillips {Contrabass: 3,8}
  • Burton Green {Piano, Pianoharp: 6}
  • Gilli Smyth {Voices, Spacewhisper}
  • Tasmin Smyth {Voices: 1,8 }
  • daevid allen {Guitar, Bass Guitar, Semprini Crystal Ball, Vocals}