planet gong bazaar

artwork The Invisible Opera Co of Tibet
The Bardo of Becoming CD
Dakini Records DKRCD113 || 2020 || $ | | ¥ +p&p

New Invisible album!

The continuation...

Some of the tranformative aims of the Bardo Thodrol made music

This album, named after the fourth Bardo, or 'intermediate state' between death and rebirth, demonstrates the Invisibles' aspirations and their continuing development as a band as they strive to achieve them.

The musical reference points for the first 4 tracks contain enjoyable echoes of Deya-esque Gong Family recordings, Here & Now, Caravan and Curved Air - all admiral references.

Tracks five to 9 are deeper fare. A elemental sonic journey through 'The Four Fearsomes' no less, until you emerge slightly breathless at the revelations of tracks 10 and 11.

It's an enjoyably brave album which will reward engagement.

Very well recorded, mixed and mastered by the production team of Brian Abbott and Dave Kendall.

Tri-fold didgi-pak with 4 page full colour booklet

Tracks: [47.16] (All tracks written and composed by Brian Abbott)
  1. Dissolution [5'05]
  2. Song of the Bardo [3.52]
  3. World of the Living [5.24]
  4. The Little Deaths [6.10]
  5. The Collapsing Mountain (Earth) [3.23]
  6. An Engulfing Ocean (Water) [3.16]
  7. A Blazing Inferno (Fire) [3.20]
  8. A Gusting Whirlwind (Air) [3.31]
  9. The Three Abysses pt.1 [5.50]
  10. The Three Abysses pt.2 [4.10]
  11. The Approaching [3.13]
Invisible Opera Co. of Tibet:
  • Brian Abbott: {acoustic and electric guitar, gliss guitar, tibetan bowls, gong, vocals}
  • Jackie Juno: {lead vocals, tibetan bowls}
  • Julian Veasy: {keyboards}
  • Phil Whitehouse: {bass}
  • Viv Goodwin Darke: {flute, vocals}
  • Tracey Austin: {drums, glockenspiel}
  • Nigel Shaw - {tibetan bowls}
  • Saff Juno-Abbott - {vocals on 11}
  • Dave Kendall - {synth sequence on 3}
Production credits:
  • Produced by Dave Kendall and Brian Abbott