planet gong bazaar
artwork Various Artists
ON a Dubmission volume 1
Wakyo WKYCD010CD | 2008-11-01

(Sorry, currently unavailable.)

Includes an exclusive new take on a Mirror System track.

New dub? Psychedelic dub? Electro dub? Avant dub? Dub dub? Well I don't know what you would call it these days but do like this release a whole heap. Full of adventure and odd sounds and tempos, but still firmly connected to a totally recognisable dub 'essence' with few if any of the clichés of the genre - but hey they're on a Dub Mission of course.

You don't automatically link Mirror System - as we have known it thus far - with dub, but Pitch Black's new dub-wise take on Steve and Miquette's 'Mirror Beach' from the Mirror System album fits in beautifully with the other tracks and is one of the highlights amongst many on this release.

Tracks: [57'48]
  1. Pitch Black : Unadrumma [6'10]
  2. International Observer : The International [6'53]
  3. Katchafire : Collie Dub [4'53]
  4. The Black Seeds : Almost Home [3'34]
  5. Phelps and Munro : Artficial Duck Flavour [3'15]
  6. Rhombus : Piano Dub [4'22]
  7. Pitch Black : Flex [6'02]
  8. Dubomatic : Logical Dub [5'41]
  9. Hummel : Dressing Down [4'01]
  10. Mirror System : Mirror Beach [8'00] (from Sands Rerub by Pitch Black)
  11. Sola Rosa Breezes Blowing [4'51]