planet gong bazaar

artwork Rovo and System 7
Phoenix Rising CD
a-wave AAGWCD004|| 23.09.2013 || $ | | ¥ +p&p

In stock and available now

An incredible blend of psychedelic, progressive jam band rock and techno

A dynamic true fusion of musics creating vibrantly new sounds. A fantastic double drummer rhythm section, Miquette's high-synth sensibilities and funkiness blending with Rovo's keyboards and synths, electric violin phrases to die for interweaving with Steve's by turns encouraging and soaring guitar lines.

It's sometimes Can-like, has deepest Hawk-jam moments, Pentagramaspinic echoes, muti-layered psychedelic space grooves, a brilliant cover of the Mahavishnu Orchestra's 'Meeting of the Spirits' (which is a long cherished desire of Steve's fulfilled), and in the end the embracing warm bliss and gentle re-entry of the Japanese hot spring inspired 'Unseen Onsen' - phew! With each successive track you think you have reached THE high point of the album - then along comes the next one and you realize - OMG - there's higher...It's a bloomin' mountain range of highs.

Beautiful gate-fold digipak with an 8 page full colour booklet insert.

Web-site for all hybrid and non System 7 and Mirror System releases -

Also available the Rovo and System 7 Hinotori CD/EP

Tracks: [71.42]
  1. Hinotori (album version) [12.01] -
  2. Love For The Phoenix [9.39] -
  3. Meeting of the Spirits [7.24] -
  4. Cisco (Phoenix Rising) [13.42] -
  5. Unbroken [7.34] -
  6. Sino Dub (Phoenix Rising) [13.34] -
  7. Unseen Onsen [7.21] -
  • Yuji Katsui {violin, electric violin}
  • Seiichi Yamamoto {electric guitar}
  • Yasuhiro Yoshigaki {drums, percussion}
  • Yoichi Okabe {drums, percussion}
  • Jin Harada {bass}
  • Tatsuki Masuko {keyboards, synths}
System 7
  • Steve Hillage / Miquette Giraudy