planet gong bazaar



Clearlight Symphony LP

Wah Wah LPS106 (2012)

Another very fine Wah Wah reissue, licensed from the artist (as was Delired Cameleon Family, which also features Cyrille), with Steve Hillage, Tim Blake, and Didier Malherbe. A marvelously florid, unabashedly, classic symphonic progressive album originally released on Virgin Records in 1975 and now available on vinyl once again. Composed, arranged and masterminded by Cyrille Verdeaux whose ample keyboard skills pilot the entire enterprise. Interestingly this re-issue reverses the order of the sides as they appeared on the original Virgin release. The order here, which is more logical, is apparently the way it should have been in the first place.


  • Clearlight Symphony Part I C. Verdeaux


  • Clearlight Symphony Part II C. Verdeaux

A-side personnel

  • Cyrille Verdeaux grand piano, organ, Mellotron, gong
  • Christian Boulé electric guitar
  • Gilbert Artman drums, vibraphone, percussion
  • Martin Issacs bass

B-side personnel

  • Cyrille Verdeaux grand piano, organ, Mellotron, synth bass
  • Tim Blake VCS3 synth, percussions
  • Steve Hillage electric guitar
  • Didier Malherbe tenor sax