planet gong bazaar

artwork Mother Gong
Live 1991 re-mastered
Voiceprint VP446CD || 2008-09 || $ | | ¥ +p&p

Freewheeling live musical postcard from deepest America.

From Texas to New York… free and improvised, ultra musical band line-up with Thom the Poet along for the ride.

From the late '80's to the late '90's Gong family bands, off-shoots, solo members, duos and trios zig-zaged across the States with friends and relations in tow, hopping on and off 'the bus', being passed from old friend to new acquaintance, sleeping on floors and couches - winging it really. daevid blazed the trail, followed by the Magick Brothers, Tim Blake, Kangaroo Moon, Gong twice on Dr Wolf's Greyhound bus, and of course Mothergong.

Those days have gone except for the occasional West or East coast flying alien visit en route to or from Australia, and it seems hard to take a bottle of water on the plane now let alone battered keyboard or guitar cases, and everyone has 'illegal eyes' these days, but the recordings remain.

Originally recorded by Rick Dodderidge, now re-mastered by Harry Williamson and a with new 12 page fold-out booklet by Navi.

  1. Womb [0'24]
  2. In the Beginning [2'18]
  3. Four Horsemen [3'11]
  4. New Man [2'23]
  5. Ambassadors [3'10]
  6. Hungry [1'15]
  7. Fat Cats [3'30]
  8. Big Daddy World [3'42]
  9. Miaow [4'38]
  10. Pigalle [3'29]
  11. Superboots [7'20]
  12. Wild Child [6'11]
  13. Sorry! [1'24]
  14. Mr Union Carbide [5'29]
  15. Space Case [10'18]
  16. We Who Were Raging [10'22]
  17. Wilful Housewife [2'20]
  18. Crying is Strength [3'40]
  • Gilli Smyth {Vocals, space-whisper}
  • Harry Williamson {Guitars, keys, programming, vocals}
  • Rob Calvert {Tenor sax}
  • Tom the Poet {Vocals: 1, 6, 9, 10, 14, 16}