planet gong bazaar

artwork Mirror System
Mirror System AAWCD011 || 2005-09-26 || $ | | ¥ +p&p

Gorgeous sensual, down tempo/chilled album by Steve and Miquette.

Mirror System is a major step for us. It is the first time we've done a full chillout album with beats. But these are relaxing rolling beats. We have used all our techniques for dance music production to produce a full album of music that seeks to create a different effect, employing acoustic guitar and other sounds rarely used on System 7 tracks.

If you like the ambient side of System 7 we're sure that you will love Mirror System.

Different from anything that has gone before in System 7 world, but still undeniably Steve and Miquette doing their very special thing.

This is a wonderfully chilled album and one that stirs so many different ingredients into the mix. I detect echoes of Dick Dale, Rainbow Dome Music samples, classic Steve guitar sounds - but often the type without 'attack', the ones that swell up from no-where and envelop you. There are gliss sounds of course, but there is so much more. Every track has flowing beats and rhythms but approached in a totally new way, I'm sure there are Arabic patterns in there. There are even some acoustic guitar elements mixed in with the classic synth arpeggios and sounds. And are those selected looped samples from earlier albums?

Just a beautifully richly patterned soft carpet on which to lie back upon and fly.

Produced by Steve Hillage and Miquette Giraudy. Tracks 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11 written by Steve Hillage and Miquette Giraudy.

Tracks: [75'10]
  1. Cloud II [6'59]
  2. Stella (duende mix) [7'53] (Written by Jam El Mar and Mark Spoon.)
  3. Hilal [6'40] (A collaboration with U-Cel. Written by Moulay Youssef Adel, Steve Hillage and Miquette Giraudy. Additional keyboards by Tariq Saeed M.E., additional guitar by Hassen Nainia.)
  4. Flex-e-fun [8'06] (Written by Alex Patterson, Steve Hillage and Miquette Giraudy.)
  5. System a la folie [5'03]
  6. Lazy [7'26]
  7. Mirror Beach [8'17] (Written by Mark Neal, Steve Hillage and Miquette Giraudy.)
  8. M Theory [5'57]
  9. Fludiity [7'31]
  10. Merchant of Colours [7'04]
  11. Tranilio [4'06]